Image source: ‘The Nib’ and Gemma Correll
Image source: ‘The Nib’ and Gemma Correll

I’m a huge fan of The Nib. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a daily, online comic that features political cartoons, graphic journalism and essays. It was founded by cartoonist Matt Bors in September 2013.

Whilst originally on Medium, Bors moved the digital publication to its own website under First Look Media, along with a membership package called The Inkwell. I’m a very happy subscriber and love to receive the latest edition in my inbox. It covers a range of political, social and historical issues in great detail and with a fantastic satirical style. The first three issues covered the topics of death, family and empire, including a range of amazing stories from the grisly, troubling history of U.S. executions through to ludicrous and hilarious development of reality TV programmes like The Bachelorette.

The other day, however, I was saddened to receive an email from Bors at The Nib, which included the following excerpt:

I have some important news about the future of The Nib and I wanted you to know first.

After three and a half years, First Look Media has decided to no longer fund The Nib at the end of July and me and my team will be let go as part of a broader shift at the company.

They are, however, working to hand the publication over to me so that I can continue The Nib. This will be a major setback but I will be devoting all my time to continuing this publication with contributions from all the editors and cartoonists who have made this publication what it is.

The work that goes into this publication is staggering, with a range of really intelligent, creative illustrators and writers contributing their own stories and style to each edition.

In a world where it’s super-easy to get news for absolutely nothing, consider paying a small fee for a publication like The Nib. I’m not being paid to write this; I just believe in paying for at least some of your news.

Check out The Nib today.